Book Review: A Court of Frost and Starlight, A Court of Thorns and Roses Series Novella

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Overall Rating: 3/5

Spicy Rating: 3/5

Genre: Adult, Fae, Fantasy, High Fantasy, Magic, New Adult, Novella, Romance

The A Court of Frost and Starlight novella takes place in between the main series books A Court of Wings and Ruin and A Court of Silver Flames. It serves as a bridge that wraps up Feyre and Rhysand’s romance with lots of happy moments and a peek into what the future holds for the happily married couple and setting the scene for the romance of Cassian and Nesta that unfolds in the next novel.

Because this book isn’t a stand-alone novel, it lacks a plot of its own and has no villain or any real obstacles that the characters overcome within the pages. It very much reads like a Christmas special of Feyre and Rhysand’s relationship and if you love their characters and their romance you might enjoy this, as I did for the most part. Because of this, it’s more like a sweet, romantic fan-fiction than an interesting novel to fall in to, but if you plan on reading A Court of Silver Flames there are a few important scenes that occur between Nesta and Cassian in this novella that will give you a glimpse at what is to come.

For lovers of Feyre and Rhysand, this is a sort of prolonged epilogue, which shows us what their future looks like, with glimpses of their family, holidays, Feyre’s painting and Rhysand and Feyre’s jobs as High Lord and High Lady and what they want in the future following this novel. Personally, I enjoyed having a sappy ending to the dramatic trilogy but I also fall completely in love with the characters of the novels I read, and most of the time I have to let them go without knowing what happens to them. I don’t think this book was necessary for Sarah J. Maas to write, and if you aren’t interested in a 200-page sentimentality trip then I encourage you not to read it.


Read the A Court of Thorns and Roses Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, A Court of Wings and Ruin, A Court of Frost and Starlight, A Court of Silver Flame.

If you enjoyed the A Court of Thorns and Roses Series you might also enjoy the Throne of Glass Series, the Crescent City Series, the From Blood and Ash Trilogy, The Folk of the Air Trilogy (also known as the Cruel Prince Trilogy), the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, and its follow-up the Six of Crows Duology, the Serpent and Dove Trilogy, and The Shadows Between Us.

Buy the book here:

Half-price Books: A Court of Frost and Starlight

Thrift Books: A Court of Frost and Starlight

Better World Books: A Court of Frost and Starlight

Or find a local book shop to purchase through at Book Shop or Indiebound.

You can also purchase digital books and audiobooks from local and indie bookstores through or My Must Reads.

If you can’t afford to purchase the book, consider subscriptions like Scribd which I reviewed here, or by visiting your local library or using the app Libby to borrow books from the library digitally on your own devices.

You Might Also Like: