A Court of Thorns and Roses Series

The covers of the four currently released novels in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. Photo courtesy of Bloomsbury Publishing

Rating: 10/10

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Author: Sarah J. Maas

The ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ series is one of the most riveting romances I’ve read in years. It features a strong female protagonist and centers on an enemies to lovers trope. The fantasy world is vivid in its creation and all of the characters experience relatable flaws and trauma that resonates and has realistic plot twists based on this trauma. It’s rare to find a book that neither romanticizes nor downplays trauma and the consequences of its effects which was a breath of fresh air amid the young-adult genre.

The series was so riveting that I found it impossible to put the books down, hardly stopping to eat or sleep for two days as I poured through its 2000 pages. When I finally reached the end of the most recently released book ‘A Court of Frost and Starlight’ I was depressed not to be able to launch myself into the fifth and final installment ‘A Court of Silver Flames.’ There are four books that have been released thus far: ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses,’ ‘A Court of Mist and Fury,’ ‘A Court of Wings and Ruin,’ and lastly, ‘A Court of Frost and Starlight.’ The books are filled with twists and turns, some predictable but many that were shockingly unexpected. The anticipation of which friends would turn enemies, which enemies would become friends, took the typical insipid royal court life, turned it on its end with tempting magic and both traitorous and unexpected alliances making this series a page-turner that many people would enjoy.

One of my favorite things about the series is that it affirms and reaffirms Feyrah as a strong person and a survivor who is capable of taking care of herself and others and making her own decisions. Even when she is wrought with mental health issues she is still struggling to assert her independence and advocating for her own health when no one else is.

I do think the designation as a young adult fiction novel is misleading because in many chapters throughout the series the graphic imagery related to topics such as sex were quite adult. Because of this, I would have designated the series as adult fiction or romance.

Links for purchase:

A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Wings and Ruin

A Court of Frost and Starlight

A Court of Silver Flames

#youngadultfiction #adultfiction #fantasy #romance #action #enemiestolovers #strongfemaleprotagonist #sex

You Might Also Like:

about me

about me

Living the life of a student adventurer based in the Pacific Northwest and writing my way through it. Your resource for lifestyle and travel!

Contact Us